Board Recognitions November 2017

Posted by Steve Scheffler on 11/17/2017 2:00:00 PM

In the spotlight


Caldwell students recite the Pledge

In November 2017, Caldwell Elementary students led the audience in the U.S. and Texas pledges to start the meeting. These students included Garrett Heitman, Elena Barraza and Rachel Humphrey.


National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholars

In November 2017, PfISD recognized the National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholars. This included (from Connally HS) Angelica Albarracin, Juan Garcia, Anthony Kern and Keyara Hill; (from Hendrickson HS) Christian Boswell, Christian Douglas, Samuel Perales and Viviana Vargas; (from Pflugerville HS) Diego Carlson, Raetsch Myers, Lynda Palacios, Scott Scarborough and Graysen Wall.


National Merit Scholarship Program Semi-Finalist

In November 2017, PfISD recognized the National Merit Scholarship Program Semi-Finalist. This included Doru Gucer from Pflugerville HS.


National Merit Scholarship Program Commended Students  

In November 2017, PfISD recognized the National Merit Scholarship Program Commended Students. This included (from Connally HS) Angelica Albarracin, Simon Burk, Alexandra Le and Vaishnavi Lakshmanan; (from Hendrickson HS) Sara Flynn, Cory Gunter, Alex London, Bennett McCulloush, Brinda Prasad, Grant Richardson, Daniel Schultze and Gabrielle Viduya; (from Pflugerville HS) Ciera Farmer, Connor Garcia, Kayla Han, Anthony Hoang, Caleb Kersten, Alice Lesniak, Thomas Luu, Lynda Palacios, Samirdhdi Shrestha, Khue Tran and Lori Woo.


Mayor's Health and Fitness Awards

In November 2017, several PfISD schools were honored by the Mayor of Austin's Health & Fitness Council as Exemplary Schools for establishing health and wellness programs. Murchison ES took home the highest honor in the school partnership category, receiving a $1,000 mini grant from the council. Other PfISD schools honored included Rowe Lane ES, River Oaks ES and Cele MS. Pictured with the Board are Ben O'Connor (RLES), Cristina Garcia (Mayor's Health & Fitness Council), Docia Craft (MES), Reese Weirich (MES), Chasity Wright (ROES) and Aracely Suarez (ROES).


November Employees of the Month

In November 2017, the November Employees of the Month were recognized by the Board. This included Support Staff EOM Fran Coleman, front office receptionist at Hendrickson HS, and Professional EOM Tammy Rebecek, principal of Mott ES.