Return to Headlines

PfISD Theater Programs Up For Awards

March 9, 2022

Pflugerville ISD theater programs have been recognized for excellence in their field by an area theater organization.

Hendrickson, Pflugerville and Weiss theater programs received nominations in the 2022 Heller Awards for Young Artists, formerly known as the Greater Austin High School Musical Theatre Awards. Now in its eighth year, the Heller Awards annually evaluates participating musicals for high schools across Central Texas, compiles nominations and honors nominees in a red carpet affair, usually at the Long Center in Austin.

COVID-19 scuttled last year’s in-person event but this year’s awards ceremony is scheduled for April 14 at the Long Center.

Hendrickson’s “Once On This Island” musical collected nominations for Best Orchestra, Best Scenic Design, Best Lighting Design, Best Technical Execution, Best Production, Best Ensemble and Best Direction. Actors in the musical nominated for individual awards were:

  • Addi Villegas (Best Featured Ensemble)
  • Sam Hill (Best Supporting Male)
  • Keke Kyles (Best Lead Female)

With the Best Production nomination, Hendrickson earned the opportunity to perform at the Heller Awards ceremony.

Pflugerville High School’s performance of “The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee” garnered a nomination for Best Orchestra, while Corrine Ward (Best Featured Ensemble) and Luke Avalos-Gonzales (Best Male Lead) received individual nominations for their roles.

Weiss High School’s “Freaky Friday” nabbed nominations for Best Orchestra and Best Direction, and Carlise Rosa (Best Featured Individual) and McKenlee Wilson (Best Female Lead) received individual nominations.

Nominations were announced Monday, March 7 via YouTube.

Directors for each PfISD musical were:

  • Hendrickson: Nicole Malone, Mike Fisher, Issac Medina
  • Pflugerville: Grace Bohn, Brandon Marks, Mike Hanharan
  • Weiss: Bobby Malone, Will Kily, Baylie Head, Branden Hill