Return to Headlines

H-E-B Excellence in Education Award Finalist

Last week, H-E-B announced the finalists for the retailer’s 21st annual Excellence in Education Awards program. Three staff members from Pflugerville ISD have been recognized as finalists! 

  • Erica Herrera -2nd Grade teacher at Dearing ES - Leadership Elementary Award

  • Zack Kleypas- Principal for Pflugerville HS - Principal Secondary Award

  • Sara Lucas- AP Psychology & Dual Credit U.S. History teacher at Hendrickson HS - Lifetime Achievement Secondary Award

H-E-B asked community members to nominate Texas teachers, principals, and staff members to be evaluated based on their professional experiences, educational philosophies, and achievements in and out of the classroom. 

Each nominee has been carefully selected by a panel of judges who consist of former winners, administrators, and university and community leaders. Finalists and their schools received a cash prize of $1,000 and will have the opportunity to compete statewide to win up to $25,000. Winners will be announced on Sunday, April 30.