April 6 Update

Dear Pflugerville ISD Teachers & Staff,

I would like first to thank all our teachers and staff who completed the survey conducted by our TIA Committee. This data was beneficial and provided information some of the subcommittees needed to complete their portion of our TIA Committee's charge to construct a potential TIA Designation System for PfISD. 

In reviewing the data from this survey, the TIA Committee has determined that a weighted system of 60% Student Growth, 30% Teacher Observation, and 10% Optional Components would best suit a potential PfISD TIA Designation System.

Three Optional Components received a lot of support from the survey: Teacher Leadership (57%), Teacher Attendance (60%), and Student Experience surveys (42%). Based on this feedback, the Committee recommends that Domain 4 scores be included under Optional Components along with Student Experience Survey responses. Again, Optional Components are only weighted at 10% of a teacher's total TIA rating.

Approximately 20% of respondents said they supported the Shared Teacher option. About 45% supported the Designated Teacher only option, and more than 34% said they would support whatever the Committee recommends. Those numbers made it clear to the Committee that awarding the designated teacher and not dividing up a small portion to other teachers was the staff's desire.

Districts are allowed to hold a portion of the overall allotment for district use, such as professional development opportunities and program costs. The PfISD TIA Committee has decided to go with a 90%-10% model, giving the awarded teacher 90% of the allotment and holding 10% for professional learning and TIA program administrative costs (i.e., cost associated with the Panorama Student Experience survey platform). The survey showed overwhelmingly that this was the option our employees supported with more than 85% of the votes.

I believe the Committee's decisions to go with a 90%-10% stipend distribution and the 60%-30%-10% weighted plan fall in line with our teachers' and staff members' desires. 

While the final decision to apply for a PfISD TIA system has not been made, the Committee was tasked with thoroughly investigating TIA and determining if it could fit within our District's mission and ultimately increase our teacher's compensation options. The Committee's final step is to present the plan to our teachers and solicit feedback before making a final recommendation to me.

If you have any questions about TIA, please visit our PfISD TIA website: https://www.pfisd.net/Page/8094. The Committee will update this site as more information becomes available.

The TIA Committee would like more feedback from our teachers and staff and has created a second survey. This survey will gauge your support for PfISD’s plan (the details of the plan are included in the survey) and help the Committee with its final recommendation to me. The deadline to complete this survey is April 13. Here is a link to the PfISD TIA Committee Second Survey: https://forms.gle/Aohw1hyWWiwuimyr6.

Please review the information contained in the survey closely and provide us with your feedback as this will weigh into the District’s final decision of whether to implement the TIA system in PfISD. The survey will close on April 13.

If you are unfamiliar with TIA, I invite you to please watch this 30-minute video from the TEA that explains TIA in detail to learn a little more: https://youtu.be/Q1no6VQ6a2A

Thank you for taking the time to read this message and for completing this critical survey. Your feedback is crucial in helping our TIA Committee understand our teachers' views on TIA and how to build a model that best fits our District.

Brandy Baker
Chief Academic and Innovation Officer
Pflugerville ISD

TIA Committee Members & Chairs
Brandy Baker: TIA Committee Co-Chair
Willie Watson: TIA Committee Co-Chair
Alma Gonzalez-Castillo: Observations & Calibration Co-Chair
John O’Hare: Observations & Calibration Co-Chair
Holly Galloway: Student Growth & Optional Components Co-Chair
Karen Shah: Student Growth & Optional Components Co-Chair
Trana Allen: TIA Calculations & Designations Co-Chair
Brian Dawson: TIA Calculations & Designations Co-Chair
Jeffri Orosco: Budget, TIA Compensation Plan Chair
Eduardo Ramos: Budget, TIA Compensation Support
Rachel Mackey: System Development & District Support Chair
David Wiechmann: Communications Chair 

Subcommittee Members

  • Observations & Calibration: Barry Miller, Dina Schaefer, Ameka Hunt, Jesus Olivas, Mario Ramos, Laura Brown, Natasha Drumgoole
  • Student Growth & Optional Components: Pamela Brown-Ledet, Paula McNamer, Meaghan Regier, Georgie Arenaz, Amanda Sramek, Rachel Roepke
  • TIA Calculation & Designations: Hutcherson Hill, Andre Underwood, Michelle Peterson, Gloria Cruz-Gauna, Hoda Mohamed, Katie Holding, Nicole Urbach
  • Communications: Zachary Kleypas, Lauren Wright, Jennifer Fleischman, Kathryn Blankenship, Meagan Pike Dean, Rebecca Cohen
  • TIA System Development & District Support: Tana Ruckel, Lacey Ajibola, Paula Gamble, Shannon Pourmanafzadeh, Melissa Dobrenel, Joy Smith, Bridgette Arnold, Teea Robinson, Elizabeth Waldrop, Melissa Brydson, Tracy Stephens  
  • Budget & TIA Compensation Plan: Christy Fox, Jorge Franco, Daniel Garcia, Trana Allen, Gracie Lopez, Kris Reyes, Willie Watson, Veronica Jimenez, Frank Muir