PfISD Board elects new officers

May 27, 2021

 At this month’s PfISD Board of Trustees meeting retired store director David Aguirre was sworn in as a new trustee after winning election for Place 1 earlier this month. Board Trustee Tony Hanson, currently in his second term of office, was also sworn in for Place 2, winning re-election uncontested. 

Following the swearing in, the Board elected officers for the current term. Board Trustee Renae Mitchell, in her second term, was named board president. Hanson also was chosen as vice president, and Brian Allen was elected secretary.

Mitchell is a 30-year resident of Pflugerville and has spent the last 18 years actively involved with the school district and community as a leader, volunteer and parent. She has previously served on the boards of the Pflugerville Education Foundation and Pflugerville Chamber of Commerce. 

Prior to becoming a trustee, Hanson served on PfISD and City of Pflugerville Citizens Bond Review Committees. He continues to be involved with volunteering and mentoring in the community.

Allen retired from the United States Army after 24 years of service and continues to work with veterans in the community. He has received the U.S. Congressional Veteran Commendation for his contributions to veterans and their families.