PfISD students fare well at regional science fair

March 11, 2022

More than 170 Pflugerville ISD elementary and middle school students took home awards and ribbons from the 2022 Austin Energy Regional Science Festival last month, with three advancing to the state science fair.

The Austin Energy Regional Science Festival, open to students in grades 3-12, annually attracts approximately 3,000 students, encouraging and rewarding innovative research while providing science professionals an opportunity to engage with young minds in our community.

Third- through 5th grade students competed in various categories of the fair’s Elementary Division. Top finishers were presented special awards and/or ribbons for their projects.

Pflugerville ISD elementary school students receiving special awards were:

  • Will Spurlin (Windermere Elementary): Austin Energy Renewable Energy Innovation Award
  • Harneet Kaur (Rowe Lane Elementary): Austin Parks Foundation Young Environmentalists Award
  • Annabelle Phillips (Windermere Elementary): Dell Medical School Future Health Leader Award
  • Hannah Jackson (Dessau Elementary): Health Through Science Honorable Mention

PfISD elementary students who won ribbons at the regional fair are listed here. 

Guneet Kaur of Kelly Lane Middle School, and Atzi Flores and Pamela Kundla of Pflugerville Middle School placed in the top three in their respective categories at the regional event to advance to the state event in the Junior Division.

The Texas Science and Engineering Fair takes place March 4-9 in a virtual format and in-person March 25 at Texas A&M University, pending COVID-19 restrictions. The state event is open to grades 6-12.

Octavian Glendenning of Kelly Lane Middle School received the district’s Superintendent Award, a trophy presented to one outstanding Pflugerville ISD project among secondary campuses. Kaur and Kundla received Broadcom Masters SSP Awards for finishing in the top 2 of their respective categories. Because of their excellent finish, they also earned the opportunity to compete in the Broadcom Masters National Science event in Washington, D.C.